Archive

Contracts & Procurement

Awards, protests, extensions, and re-competes for management and operating contracts and major subcontracts across the weapons complex and commercial nuclear sector.

  • Fluor reports strong results for fourth quarter, full-year 2024

    Earnings rose at Fluor, Irving, Texas, in the fourth quarter as well as for the full year ended Dec. 31, 2024, which the company attributed Tuesday to projects ranging from data centers to Department of Energy nuclear cleanup. The numbers were also affected by the “equity method” of accounting for Fluor’s investment and “de-consolidation” from […]

  • Parsons touts big fourth quarter, full 2024 earnings

    Earnings rose at Parsons, Chantilly, Va., in the fourth quarter and the full year of 2024, the company reported early Wednesday. Net earnings for the fourth quarter ended Dec. 31 were $54 million or $ $0.49 a share, up from $49 million, or $0.39 a share, in the year-ago quarter. Quarterly revenue was $1.7 billion […]

  • Parsons touts big fourth quarter, full 2024 earnings

    Earnings rose at Parsons, Chantilly, Va., in the fourth quarter and the full year of 2024, the company reported early Wednesday. Net earnings for the fourth quarter ended Dec. 31 were $54 million or $ $0.49 a share, up from $49 million, or $ $0.39a share, in the year-ago quarter. Quarterly revenue was $1.7 billion […]

  • Parsons touts big fourth quarter, full 2024 earnings

    Earnings rose at Parsons, Chantilly, Va., in the fourth quarter and the full year of 2024, the company reported early Wednesday. Net earnings for the fourth quarter ended Dec. 31 were $54 million or $ $0.49 a share, up from $49 million, or $ $0.39a share, in the year-ago quarter. Quarterly revenue was $1.7 billion […]

  • GAO dismisses Bechtel group protest, DOE reconsiders PPPO award

    The Government Accountability Office this week dismissed a bid protest by a Bechtel-led group over a potential $2.3-billion Department of Energy contract awarded to an Atkins Nuclear Secured-led team, —but that won’t be the final word, as DOE will re-evaluate the original award. A Government Accountability Office (GAO) document viewed by Exchange Monitor said GAO’s […]

  • Fluor passes CEO reins to Breuer; Constable becomes exec chair

    Texas-based Fluor announced early Tuesday it is promoting chief operating officer Jim Breuer to chief executive officer while the current CEO and board chair David Constable will become executive chair effective May 1. Fluor, a publicly-traded company, which has a large footprint in nuclear power as well as government contracts with the Department of Energy […]

  • GAO dismisses Bechtel group protest, but stay tuned on PPPO award

    The Government Accountability Office (GAO) this week dismissed a bid protest by a Bechtel-led group over a potential $2.3-billion Department of Energy contract awarded to an Atkins Nuclear Secured-led team, — but that might not be the final word, sources said. Sources told Exchange Monitor GAO’s dismissal of the protest by Bechtel-led Mission Operations Alliance […]

  • Parsons touts big fourth quarter, full 2024 earnings

    Earnings rose at Parsons, Chantilly, Va., in the fourth quarter and the full year of 2024, the company reported early Wednesday. Net earnings for the fourth quarter ended Dec. 31 were $54 million or $ $0.49 a share, up from $49 million, or $ $0.39a share, in the year-ago quarter. Quarterly revenue was $1.7 billion […]

  • Fluor reports strong results for fourth quarter, full-year 2024

    Earnings rose at Fluor, Irving, Texas, in the fourth quarter as well as for the full year ended Dec. 31, 2024, which the company attributed Tuesday to projects ranging from data centers to Department of Energy nuclear cleanup. The numbers were also affected by the “equity method” of accounting for Fluor’s investment and “de-consolidation” from […]

  • Fluor passes CEO reins to Breuer; Constable becomes exec chair

    Texas-based Fluor announced early Tuesday it is promoting chief operating officer Jim Breuer to chief executive officer while the current CEO and board chair David Constable will become executive chair effective May 1. Fluor, a publicly-traded company, which has a large footprint in nuclear power as well as government contracts with the Department of Energy […]

  • Leidos boasts strong fourth quarter

    Northern Virginia–based Leidos, a major Department of Energy contractor, ended a handsome 2004 with strong fourth quarter financial results and increased revenue across its operating segments. Net income rose 23 percent to $282 million, $2.12 earnings per share (EPS), in the quarter from $230 million ($1.66 EPS) a year ago. Excluding certain non-operating costs, adjusted […]

  • North Wind manager retires; Fluor adds board member

    A major Department of Energy contractor recently added a new member to its board of directors, while a much-used smaller contractor in the weapons complex announced the retirement of one of its managers. Idaho-based North Wind Group said Jan. 30 that Linda Beach, the company’s project manager office director, has retired. Beach has been affiliated […]

  • Centrus quarterly revenue up, net earnings down for fourth quarter

    Revenue rose at Centrus, Bethesda, Md., in the fourth quarter, which the uranium broker and enrichment technology developer attributed to the low-enriched uranium segment and higher uranium prices, even though net income was down. For the full year, Centrus experienced a rise in revenue at $442 million compared to $320.2 million in the prior year, […]

  • HII ends 2024 on sour note as earnings, sales decline

    Huntington Ingalls Industries Thursday reported a steep fourth-quarter decline in earnings driven by lower performance in construction of attack submarines and new aircraft carriers. Net income in the quarter tumbled 55% to $123 million, $3.15 earnings per share, from $274 million ($6.90 earnings per share) a year ago, short of consensus estimates by 13 cents […]

  • Amentum reports stronger first quarter earnings; not worried about Musk cuts

    Earnings rose at Amentum, Chantilly, Va., in the first quarter of fiscal 2025, which the company that recently combined with the government contracting wing of Jacobs attributed to strong core businesses linked with national security. In response to questions from Wall Street analysts during a Wednesday morning conference call, CEO John Heller said Amentum management […]

  • Amentum reports stronger first quarter earnings; not worried about Musk cuts

    Earnings rose at Amentum, Chantilly, Va., in the first quarter of fiscal 2025, which the company that recently combined with the government contracting wing of Jacobs attributed to strong core businesses linked with national security. In response to questions from Wall Street analysts during a Wednesday morning conference call, CEO John Heller said Amentum management […]

  • Lockheed Martin wins $383M Trident II contract mod

    Lockheed Martin won a modification to a previously-awarded contract to work on advanced design and development for the Trident II Life Extension 2 Alteration, the Department of Defense said Jan. 31. The cost-plus-incentive-fee and cost-plus-fixed-fee modification to the existing contract for the sea-based leg of the nuclear triad was awarded on a sole source basis, […]

  • Honeywell earnings rise as company plans to split into three

    Earnings rose at Honeywell, Charlotte, N.C., in the fourth quarter, even while the company reported a dip in Aerospace, the segment involved with management of several defense-nuclear sites. Honeywell also announced plans to split into three separate public companies, according to an earnings release.   Net earnings for the entire company for the fourth quarter, ended […]

  • Northrop CEO expects Sentinel to contribute “less than 10%” of sales

    Northrop Grumman expects its B-21 stealth bomber and the Sentinel next-generation intercontinental ballistic missile “to be less than 10 percent of sales in the company, but continuing to gradually increase from ’24 into ’25,” CEO Kathy Warden said in a quarterly earnings call last week. Northrop Grumman introduced guidance for 2025, with sales projected to […]

  • Amentum reports stronger first quarter earnings; not worried about Musk cuts

    Earnings rose at Amentum, Chantilly, Va., in the first quarter of fiscal 2025, which the company that recently combined with the government contracting wing of Jacobs attributed to strong core businesses linked with national security. In response to questions from Wall Street analysts during a Wednesday morning conference call, CEO John Heller said Amentum management […]

  • Lockheed Martin wins $383M Trident II contract mod

    Lockheed Martin won a modification to a previously=awarded contract to work on advanced design and development for the Trident II Life Extension 2 Alteration, the Department of Defense said Friday. The cost-plus-incentive-fee and cost-plus-fixed-fee modification to the existing contract for the sea-based leg of the nuclear triad was awarded on a sole source basis, according […]

  • USAF awards BAE Systems nearly $1.2 billion extension for ICBM support

    The U.S. Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center’s intercontinental ballistic missile directorate has awarded BAE Systems a more than two-year $1.2-billion contract extension, keeping BAE on the project through July 2027.  The award came the day before BAE Systems’ nearly 12-year,  $1.9 billion support contract was set to expire.  The award comes as the Air Force […]

  • Wrap Up: Senate RECA bill revived; Cadre buys Carr’s nuclear; Management Solutions acquires KeySource; more

    A bipartisan group of U.S. senators are reintroducing a bill to reauthorize and expand the Radiation Exposure Compensation (RECA) Act. A similar bill passed the Senate last session but never made it to a vote in the House of Representatives. On Thursday Jan. 23, Sen. Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) announced he and Sen. Ben Ray Luján […]

  • HII completes asset purchase of submarine metal fabricator

    Huntington Ingalls Industries said Monday it closed its acquisition of the assets of W International, bringing in-house a supplier of submarine structures, modules, and assemblies that struggled to meet the Navy’s needs. Terms of the deal, first announced in early December, were not disclosed. Huntington Ingalls Industries’s (HII) Newport News Shipbuilding-Charleston Operations site in Goose […]

  • HII completes asset purchase of submarine metal fabricator

    Huntington Ingalls Industries said Monday it closed its acquisition of the assets of W International, bringing in-house a supplier of submarine structures, modules, and assemblies that struggled to meet the Navy’s needs. Terms of the deal, first announced in early December, were not disclosed. Huntington Ingalls Industries’s (HII) Newport News Shipbuilding-Charleston Operations site in Goose […]

  • Management Solutions acquires KeySource

    Knoxville-based Management Solutions, a woman-owned Department of Energy contractor, said this week it has acquired KeySource, a company engaged in executive searches and workforce solutions. Management Solutions, which has DOE business at the Oak Ridge Site in Tennessee, the Los Alamos National Laboratory in New Mexico, announced the acquisition during this week’s Nuclear Deterrence Summit […]

  • Cadre buys nuclear brands from Carr’s Engineering

    Jacksonville, Fla-based Cadre Holdings, which makes and sells safety gear for nuclear and military markets, recently announced a deal to buy several nuclear brands from a branch of Carr’s Group, plc for £75 million, which translates to roughly $93 million (U.S.). Cadre, which trades on the New York Stock Exchange, is buying the Engineering Division, […]

  • Changes underway at small biz office

    The head of the Department of Energy’s Office of Small Disadvantaged Business Utilization appointed by former President Joe Biden has departed the post. “Today marks my last day at the Dept of Energy as director,” Ron Pierce, announced on his LinkedIn page Jan. 16. “It was an honor to be appointed and serve in the […]

  • Acting secretary pauses DOE RFPs, reports pending review

    The Department of Energy is putting the brakes on most contract solicitations, reports and personnel moves, Acting Secretary of Energy Ingrid Kolb said this week. In a Monday memo, viewed by Exchange Monitor, Kolb said most contract procurements of $100,000 or more were to be put on hold as were most loan guarantees, hiring, promotions and […]

  • Acting secretary pauses DOE RFPs, reports pending review

    The Department of Energy is putting the brakes on most contract solicitations, reports and personnel moves, Acting Secretary of Energy Ingrid Kolb said this week. In a Monday memo, viewed by Exchange Monitor, Kolb said most contract procurements of $100,000 or more were to be put on hold as were most loan guarantees, hirings, promotions […]